Planning and Zoning Commission


Current Agendas  Current Minutes Current Online Video
View All  View All 
View All 
Archived Agendas
Archived Minutes
View All View All


Robert Martinez-Merlo

Place 1

Two-year Term 
Sept. 2019-Aug. 2021

Kay Ivey

Place 2

Term Expires
August 2020

Larry Clark

Place 3

Two-year Term 
Sept. 2019-Aug. 2021

Ron Holland

Place 4

Term Expires
August 2020

Cristy McCauley

Place 5

Two-year Term 
Sept. 2019-Aug. 2021
Karen Isbell
Place 6

Term Expires
August 2020

Sharon Gehle

Place 7

Two-year Term 
Sept. 2019-Aug. 2021

Tom Snyder
Primary Liaison

Mark Taylor
Alternate Liaison


The Planning and Zoning Commission makes recommendations to City Council to guide land development through One Watauga, Comprehensive Master Plan, Zoning and Subdivision Regulations. The Commission also makes recommendations to City Council regarding platting or subdividing land within the corporate limits of the City. The Commission meets the third Wednesday of the month as posted at 6:30 p.m. at City Hall.

Sec. 11.01. - The planning and zoning commission

There shall be established by the city council a planning and zoning commission which shall consist of seven persons who are residents in the City of Watauga and who own real property within the city.

(a) Authority. The planning and zoning commission shall have no authority in the hiring or assignment of employees or volunteers for the city. The commission shall not have any authority in the activities or the establishment of salary ranges for such employees. Further, the commission and its members shall direct all communications concerning city officers and employees through the office of the city manager, and neither the commission nor its members shall instruct or direct any such officer or employee, either publicly or privately.

(b) Residency requirement. Each member of the commission shall be a resident of the city, own real property in the city, and shall be a qualified registered voter for the city on the date of appointment to the commission, and shall continue to own real property and remain a resident and a qualified registered voter so long as they continue to serve on the commission.

(c) Members.

(1) The planning and zoning commission shall consist of seven regular members. Places on the commission shall be numbered one through seven, with all members appointed for two-year terms to expire August 31. Members serving in odd-numbered places shall have their terms expire on each odd-numbered year, and members serving in even-numbered places shall have their terms expire on even-numbered years. The commission may submit to the mayor the names of those current members who are recommended for reappointment.

(d) Liaisons. In addition to regular commission members, the commission shall have two members of the city council appointed by the mayor subject to the approval and consent of the city council to serve as liaisons to the commission. The purpose of the liaisons is to provide guidance to the commission in matters pertaining to city administration and home rule charter affairs, and to provide interface with city staff, the city attorney, and the full city council in any matters that may arise. City council liaisons shall not have the right to vote in any matter before the commission, but shall have the right to fully participate in all discussion of matters that come before the commission. The appointment of liaisons by the mayor shall be at the second meeting in June of each year.

(e) Officers.

(1) Composition. The officers of the commission shall be a chairperson or chair, a vice-chairperson and a secretary.

(2) Membership; term. At its first meeting in September of each year, the membership of the commission shall determine by majority vote the chairperson, vice-chairperson and secretary. Those positions shall be for a period of one year, or until the first meeting after September 1 of the following year.