The Watauga Crime Control and Prevention District was created by referendum of the citizens of Watauga in March of 1996, renewed in May of 2001 and renewed again in November 2010 for a period of 10 years.. The District was designed in compliance with the Texas Local Government Code, Title 11, Subtitle C, Chapter 363. 

The Watauga Crime Control and Prevention District provides for the establishing of a ½% sales tax for the express purpose of funding of crime control programs, including the costs of personnel, expansion administration, enhancement and capital expenditures. The specific types of programs are listed in sub-chapter D of Chapter 363.161.
The district is governed by seven members of the Board of Directors. The Board is responsible for budgeting, managing, controlling and administering district funds.
Traffic Enforcement Section 05